With a New Year comes a new minimum wage in California. Effective January 1, 2021, California’s minimum wage increased to $14.00/hour for employers with 26 or more employees. Minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees increased to $13.00/hour. As a reminder, the minimum wage will increase through 2022:
Wage Order 14 Overtime Changes
Effective January 1, 2021, agricultural employers with 26 or more employees are required to pay overtime for workdays greater than 8.5 hours or workweeks over 45 hours. Small employers with 25 or fewer employees will not feel the impact of AB 1066 until January 1, 2022, at which point they will be required to pay overtime for workdays greater than 9.5 or workweeks over 55 hours. The schedule for changes can be found here.
COUNSEL TO MANAGEMENT:
If you have any questions about the minimum wage increase or the new overtime schedule for Ag, please contact the experts at The Saqui Law Group.